The Clark Medal

The definition of the Clarke medal

The Clark medal is the unofficial name of medal John Bates Clark, which is awarded every year in April the American economic Association economist working in the United States who are younger than 40 years and has contributed outstanding research in Economics. Since its inception in 1947 until 2007, the Clark medal was awarded only every two years. Since 2009 the award has become an annual event.

Breaking down ‘the Clark medal’

The Clark medal is one of the most prestigious awards in his field, and 12 of the recipients have gone on to win the Nobel prize in Economics.

The history of the Clark medal

The award is named in honor of John Bates Clark (1847-1938), American economist-Neoclassicism. The medal bears his likeness on one side.

Register of recipients reads like a who’s who of modern economic stars: Paul Samuelson (the first winner in 1947), Milton Friedman, James Tobin, Kenneth arrow, Robert Solow, Joseph Stiglitz, Paul Krugman, Zvi Griliches, Gary Becker, Daniel McFadden, A. Michael Spence and Jawrence summer. Most of them were Americans, but U.S. citizenship is not required; other nationalities are eligible if they work in the U.S. in fact, in 2017 the winner, Dave Donaldson, canadian (he was associated with mit at the time).

Past winners, such as Daron Acemoglu, Emmanuel Saez, and Esther Duflo were born in Turkey, Spain, and France, respectively.

Susan ate from Stanford University became the first woman to win the Clark in 2007.

Investing stocks online advice #investingstocksonline